Creating a custom Theia-based code-editor

Hello, community

Hope everyone is safe and doing well.

I am somebody who’s greatly involved in competitive programming and wanted to create a specialized code editor for this purpose. So a few months ago I started learning the required tech stack and created a prototype of the code editor I desired. The whole idea of the editor is to ease out the repetitive tasks involved while participating in a programming competition and provide a toolset for performing some special tasks. A somewhat complete list of features can be found here. Also, I created a preview video which shows some of the features. The GitHub repository for the project is here.

The problem with the existing project is that I don’t feel it’s well designed and it has some issues which require a lot of changes. Now that I discovered Theia, I want to re-create this project using Theia. Here are a couple of questions that I have in my mind for now:

• Is Theia a good fit for this project? or Will it be an overkill? Given that the codes written by the user are generally less than 300 lines and a single file. The user needs to run the compiled code multiple times against some test cases and so this needs to be fast. I tried to write a vscode extension instead but I felt that it has some restrictions for what I wanted to achieve. The existing editors and IDEs are not suitable for this and people have been using all kinds of hacks to make something better.

• All the products that use theia has the same kind of UI. Is it possible to change the application shell significantly? I have seen people creating some cool UI using a vscode fork like these.

With this, I also wish to get myself familiar with the theia project and contribute to it. The people here are so good :D. Also please provide me some pointers on how I can improve the overall project if I use theia.

[original thread by Harshal Nandigramwar]