Logpoint in Theia backend breaks/suspends execution unexpectedly (VS Code)

Hi,

I am quite new to both JavaScript/TypeScript development and Theia development. I wanted to start experimenting with Eclipse Theia, and after getting a dev environment set up, I have modified the hello-world extension by implementing a backend service to retrieve the „Hello World“ string.

Now, I wanted to put a logpoint in my backend service to see on the console when it is called. But sadly, when the execution reaches the respective line, execution is suspended. Only after resuming execution, the expected log message is printed.

This is my setup:

I have created https://github.com/xpomul/theia-boilerplate and there, a branch named hello-world .

I use VS Code 1.63.2 and the Remote Containers Extension.

Here’s what I do:

• Start VS Code
  • Use "Remote-Containers: Clone Repository in Container Volume…“ and clone the xpomul/theia-boilerplate repository branch hello-world
  • After some waiting to get everything installed, open hello-world-impl.ts and add a logpoint with the expression test in line 7 (so it has a diamond symbol)
  • Do to the Run/Debug view and select the Launch Backend launch configuration and start it
  • Open a browser at localhost, port 3000 and run Edit > Say Hello

I’d expect that the backend continues running and just prints test to the log.

Instead, it breaks/suspends execution at the line of the logpoint and I need to explicitly resume.

What am I doing wrong? Is it some configuration issue? Or is the logpoint functionality dependent on the node version and is just not yet supported with Theia’s node 12 version?

(see also my question on SO: https://stackoverflow.com/q/70938984/2239897)

Thanks,
Stefan

@xpomul thank you for the discussion, I’m not sure I got everything but it seems correct to me that you would hit a breakpoint in the backend?